University of Florida Logo

UF Preeminence campaign strengthens MAE's Space Systems Group

When the small satellite SwampSat blasted into space on November 19, 2013 aboard a Minotaur I rocket, it marked a milestone for MAE’s Space Systems Group. The CubeSat was designed and built by undergraduate and graduate students from our Small Satellite Design Club under the direction of Prof. Norman Fitz-Coy.  Fitz-Coy is among a group of prominent MAE faculty members working on many aspects of aerospace engineering and space science, including small satellites, navigation and control of autonomous space vehicles, space instrumentation and orbital mechanics. New faculty members include Prof. Riccardo Bevilacqua, hired as part of the UF Preeminence campaign, and 2014 NASA Early Career award winner Prof. John Conklin.  They join Fitz-Coy along with Prof. Anil Rao and 2013 NSF CAREER award winner Prof. Mrinal Kumar, giving MAE one of the nation’s premier space systems groups.