Professor Warren Dixon and graduate students awarded 2015 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award from the American Automatic Control Council

MAE Professor Warren Dixon and his graduate students were awarded the 2015 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award from the American Automatic Control Council.  Dr. Dixon and his PhD graduate students Matthew Bellman, Teng-Hu Cheng and Ryan Downey were recognized for their paper entitled “Stationary cycling induced by switched functional electrical stimulation control” and will be recognized at the 2015 American Control Conference.  Congratulations to the team!

Assistant Professor Mrinal Kumar awarded the Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Assistant Professor Mrinal Kumar is awarded the prestigious Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.  Dr. Kumar’s award is entitled A Unified Dynamic Information Guided Particle Framework for Mission Design and Execution, and seeks to develop a Markov chair Monte Carlo framework for comprehensive mission design and execution.  A "mission" can be envisioned as a collection of tasks involving some or all of the following: modeling, sensing, forecasting, assimilation, allocation and control; that must meet certain measures of optimality in the presence of various forms of uncertainty.  This is critical as we move towards increased autonomy of agents that plan and execute missions. The goal of this research is to develop a unified framework, in which all component algorithms utilize and share data and information.

Six ASME members and student members selected as finalists in the 2015 DiscoverE New Faces of Engineering program

Six ASME members and student members have been selected as finalists in this year’s DiscoverE New Faces of Engineering program, which annually highlights the important contributions early career engineers and engineering students are making to the profession and to society.

Chelsey Simmons, PhD, the Society’s third finalist for the 2015 New Faces-Professional program, is an assistant professor at the University of Florida, where she is dedicated to developing the next generation of biomedical tools and training the next generation of engineers. In addition to teaching and advising students, Dr. Simmons leads a team of 10 undergraduate and graduate students in interdisciplinary research and has given...

Professor Jacob N. Chung receives ASME’s 2014 Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Professor Jacob Chung is the 2014 recipient of the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in Art. This is the highest ASME award in the area of Heat Transfer and is a Society-wide award. It is also considered the highest national award in the heat transfer community. 

The citation of the award reads as follows:

“For pioneering and seminal contributions to the science and engineering of heat transfer and phase-change of droplets and bubbles, transition in heated flows, microgravity and nano to microscale boiling fundamentals, thermal transport in the synthesis of nano-cluster materials, space cryogenic boiling heat transfer, and fuel-cell thermal transport modeling."

New MAE Student Design Center to open in January 2015

New MAE Student Design Center ready to open in January 2015. The newly renovated 3,600 sq. ft. facility will host various student design and build teams, such as the Human-powered Vehicle, Hybrid Rocket, Design-Build-Fly and SAE teams, as well as the MAE community service Wilmot Gardens project team. The official ribbon cutting will take place in January. The new Student Design Center provides a state-of-the-art facility and brings our many project teams together in a cooperative and safe environment.

Prof. Greg Sawyer elected a Fellow of the National Academy in Inventors

Greg Sawyer

Prof. Greg Sawyer was elected as a Fellow of the National Academy in Inventors. He was recognized for demonstrating a prolific spirit of innovation that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life and economic development. Sawyer’s work in the field of tribology includes new materials for ultra-low friction and wear for a number of applications ranging from space to biomedicine.

Prof. David Hahn named Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy

David Hahn

Prof. David Hahn was named Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy for his exceptional contributions to spectroscopy and service to the society. Hahn was recognized for his fundamental contributions to laser-induced plasma spectroscopy, notably his research on heat and mass transport within laser-induced plasmas and on aerosol analysis.

Prof. Riccardo Bevilacqua receives 2014 Dave Ward Memorial Lecture Award

Prof. Riccardo Bevilacqua

Prof. Riccardo Bevilacqua received the 2014 Dave Ward Memorial Lecture Award at the recent Aerospace Control and Guidance Systems Committee conference. The Ward Award was established to recognize the significant contributions by a young member of the aerospace community to the development of flight dynamics, control and guidance system technologies.

MAE tribologist helps explain wear biomechanics in hadrosaurid dinosaur teeth

Tribology involves the science of friction and wear, and MAE Prof. Greg Sawyer has tackled problems ranging from space materials to contact lenses. In a recent Science paper (Erickson et al., 338, p.98, 2012), Sawyer and his colleagues used a combination of wear and hardness measurements on fossilized teeth to create three-dimensional tribological wear models, which reveal how the hadrosaurid’s unique six-tissue dental structure evolved for grinding and ecological specialization.

MAE researchers use autonomous aerial vehicles as sensor platforms


CNN recently visited the UF campus and spoke with Prof. Kamran Mohseni about development of aerial and underwater hurricane drones, while Prof. Peter Ifju’s UAVs buzzed around in the background. Dr. Mohseni envisions using autonomous vehicles, or drones, as sensor platforms to create a new way of collecting hurricane data.